Judgement, Camus and Sartre

As was said in class, Sartre and Camus were close friends.  Furthermore, because of their relationship, their philosophies share many similar beliefs.  One of which, I feel, concerns the nature of judgement.  

I thought Camus wonderfully portrayed the paradox in individual judgement. The paradox, to me, is this: we judge others, yet, we fear being judged. In this exploration, I want to look deeper into the relationship between the individual and the outer world in respect to judgement.

I think our fear of being judge (and ironically our tendency to judge) is a cornerstone of our character.  Moreover, I think if we understand what the nature of judgement is (how it affects how we think about the world and ourselves and how we go about acting in the world) we will understand the nature of the individual, the self.  

As I discuss once before in my blog, I wonder what came first … our desire to judge others, or our fear of being judged? But most critically, I am now interested in if we judge other people because we fear that they judge us? Do we presuppose they are judging us, therefore we want to judge them.  

I think because judgment is a negative thought process, our tendency to judge other people must come from our fear of being judged, for fear is a negative thought.  Furthermore, I think the fear of judgment, and our tendency to judge is the essence of our character’s (our self’s) short comings.  When one feels judged, they feel inferior.  When one judges another individual, it is because they feel insecure.  That is how judgment is a common theme in our character’s shortcomings. 

I feel as though Sartre, and Camus (which was examined in the Fall) think this as well.  I believe that transcendence (to cite Sartre) is an overcoming of our thoughts concerning judgment outside of ourselves (I say outside of ourselves because interior judgment – an evaluation of our position and facticity – is essential to Sartre’s notion of transcendence) is a form of transcendence in its own.  

Leave a Reply

